2014 Media Hall of Fame induction

Final Victorian round of the Media Hall of Fame induction dinner

At a special dinner on 10 October 2014, thirty-one more journalists were inducted into the  Media Hall of Fame.

Those in the third induction of the Media Hall of Fame project represented contemporary figures from Victoria, and included political correspondents Laurie Oakes and Michelle Grattan, newspaper editors Peter Blunden and the late Creighton Burns, cartoonists Ron Tandberg and Les Tanner and sports writers Caroline Wilson, Mike Sheahan and Gideon Haigh.

Also included are television journalists Jana Wendt and John Sorell, photographers Bruce Postle and Terry Phelan, radio presenters Neil Mitchell and Phillip Adams, investigative reporters Andrew Rule and Ben Hills and online pioneer Alan Kohler.

It is a history that has never been written or told comprehensively. Through the stories of these individuals, the Press Club is telling a good chunk of it.”

Michael Rowland, Melbourne Press Club President

Journalist-historian Les Carlyon and political ideologues B.A. Santamaria and Wilfred Burchett were also inducted, along with proprietors Ranald Macdonald and Peter Isaacson and business journalists Terry McCrann and Robert Gottliebsen.

The Guest of Honour at the event was News Corp chief executive Robert Thomson, who was also inducted.

The Media Hall of Fame project celebrates journalists who helped shape the history of their organisation, their profession, city, state, nation and, in some cases, the world. Previous inductees have included John Pascoe Fawkner, Keith Murdoch, David Syme, Rupert Murdoch, Alfred Deakin and Mary Grant Bruce.

Future rounds are dedicated to recognising figures from NSW and other states around Australia.


2014 Hall of Fame dinner