Read the Pioneers of Australian Journalism e-book

Nineteen pioneers of Australian journalism have been inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame.

The figures from across Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania and the ACT played a crucial role in developing Australian journalism during the 19th and first half of the 20th century. They include Australia’s first press freedom fighter, the first Australian war correspondent to be taken prisoner and the founders of some of the nation’s oldest newspapers.

They join 163 figures from NSW and Victoria who have been inducted since 2012, when the Hall of Fame was launched by the Melbourne Press Club.

A further 48 contemporary figures from around the country will be inducted at a presentation dinner in Melbourne on Friday 16 November. All are welcome to attend and bookings can be made here.

Profiles of the August 2018 inductees are now available in the 'Inductees' section of the Media Hall of Fame site, as well as in an e-book.

See the full list below:

James Aikenhead Charles Macfaull
Andrew Bent Thadeus O'Kane
John Bonython Nettie Palmer
John Davies Brian Penton
Warren Denning Thomas Mitchell Shakespeare
Lloyd Dumas Catherine Spence
Carl Feilberg George Stevenson
Alfred A.G. Hales Patience Thoms
John Kirwin George Hubert Wilkins
Gavin Long