John B. Fairfax receives his induction certificate from MC Michael Rowland


48 Legends of Australian Journalism Honoured

A gala dinner completes foundation of the Australian Media Hall of Fame

Another 48 greats of national journalism have been inducted into the Australian Media Hall of Fame.

They include world-famous war cameramen Neil Davis and David Brill, TV legends Ray Martin and Geraldine Doogue, magazine queen Dulcie Boling, Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Pat Oliphant and ground-breaking Aboriginal journalist John Newfong.

Also honoured was the celebrated former political editor of The Age and The Australian, Michael Gordon, a champion of social justice journalism who died suddenly in February this year.

The inductions were announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne that completed the national foundation of the Media Hall of Fame – a decade-long project of the Melbourne Press Club.

Launched in Victoria in 2012, the Media Hall of Fame last year expanded to include NSW. This year’s inductees include greats from Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia, Tasmania and the territories.

The Australian Media Hall of Fame seeks to demonstrate the importance and public benefit of journalism in the face of threats from digital disruption and political interference.

“The achievements of these extraordinary men and women shows the abiding importance of great journalism for our democracy and why we should celebrate and defend it,” Melbourne Press Club CEO Mark Baker said.

The Advisory Panel for this year’s nominations was former editor of The Age Michael Smith, former editor-in-chief of The Australian Chris Mitchell, media historian Bridget Griffen-Foley of Macquarie University and Mike Bowers, photographer-at-large for The Guardian.

This event was proudly supported by Visit Victoria.

Event details


Friday 16 November 2018


Grand Hyatt Melbourne
123 Collins Street

Proudly supported by: