About us


The Australian Media Hall of Fame, founded in 2011 and wholly owned by Melbourne Press Club Inc, comprises reporters, editors, broadcasters, photographers, cartoonists and commentators who have made a significant contribution to the development of Australian media.

In highlighting the work of these media legends, the Media Hall of Fame seeks to show the vital importance of strong and independent journalism to modern Australian history, and the imperative of ensuring it continues.

The selection process has drawn on advice over the years from a range of eminent historians and journalists including Professor Geoffrey Blainey, the late Harry Gordon, Professor Bridget Griffen-Foley, Mark Day, David Broadbent, Sally White, Chris Mitchell, Mike Bowers and Dr Patricia Clark. From 2012 to 2018 the panel advising the MPC board on nominations was chaired by former Age editor Michael Smith.


The Melbourne Press Club welcomes nominations of suitable candidates for the Australian Media Hall of Fame. If you would like to nominate someone for consideration, please email admin@melbournepressclub.com with a description of how the nominee meets the following criteria.


The Media Hall of Fame honours Australians who have made an impact. Inductees must have helped shape the history of a significant news organisation, the craft of journalism, a town, city, State, nation or the world. Sustained excellence helps, but is not enough. The Hall of Fame identifies game-changers. It is open to journalists, editors, publishers, broadcasters, producers, artists, photographers or others who have had a significant impact by working in the media. Individuals have been inducted for a truly memorable single piece of work or for sustained excellence. All have made a big impact in their field.